An “apology” is not enough Cardinal George; acceptance is required.

Dear Cardinal George

On Christmas Day – one of the most holy days of the year – your made such nasty and insolent comments that we gay folks rose up in righteous indignation – as we are required to do when we are viciously attacked. And now, two weeks later – and only after our defensive outcry of rage – you “apologize.” Well, sir, not good enough.

No, your apology is not enough. Sure, it’s a start. You have far further to go. You have taken but a tiny baby step – and now must take a leap the likes of which you still can’t and won’t contemplate. Let me make it clear – this is why an “Apology” is not enough: Your church still considers me “intrinsically evil” and a threat to my own family, my nation and the society in which I live.

Your apology is nothing but an old fashioned “CYA” – cover your ass. – No sir. The Church must alter it’s teachings and beliefs on gay people – all over this globe. It is not enough for you to say we are not like the KKK when you still believe that I am “evil” and “sick” and “demented” and a “threat” to all that is holy and good. No sir, you are a typical politician – you throw out despicable comments in the hope that no one will notice – and when noticed – apologize merely for the words, but keep the sentiment. Well, frankly, sir, I don’t care that you now “apologize” for comparing me and my gay fellows to the KKK – for you still insist that I am “evil.”

Your church has considered Jews “evil” for two thousand years. Your church has finally relented only this year on that issue. I don’t want an “apology” for the KKK reference – for you will merely seek another more pernicious comparison. No sir, I want acceptance. I want appreciation. I want your Church to admit that gay folks – especially gay men, with whom you have the most trouble – are decent fine folks the world over. Not only in this nation. But in every nation on earth. I want your Church to say “Gay people are part of God’s plan. We don’t know why, but we will embrace our gay brethren.” I want your Church to stop it’s unholy war against me and my mom, my dad, my aunts and uncles and cousins. Not just your own – but mine.

You know sir – my mother tried to be a good Catholic – one of the few in my family – for we are mostly Hussites – another bunch of people to whom you all have never “apologized.” You burnt Jan Hus at the stake in 1415 – and my family rose up in righteous indignation. While my mother joined the Catholic faith, mostly for the fine schools which you run – and she became a nurse at St. Catherine’s Hospital in Brooklyn – because of the fine hospitals you run – when she, many years later learned that I was gay – she could never quite grasp the Church’s disregard for my existence.

We fought over this, my mom and I. She’s passed away now, just over a year ago. And now I, as family historian, am going through her collected things. One thing I found this very day is a 1952 tourist book for the Cenacle of St. Regis. It’s a fine little picture book. Most people, especially gay people, in their rage against your Church’s immoral verbal attack upon us gay folks would have simply tossed it into the garbage. I did not, for my mom would not have liked that – and honoring one’s mother is a tenet of God. Instead I looked up the Cenacle on the Internet – for I decided that such a historic and probably not often saved item would be best in the hands of the successors of the Cenacle of St. Regis on 140th Street in New York City.

I discovered that the Cenacle is now out in Ronkonkoma, Long Island, New York. And so I have put that little picture book aside to mail to the successors of the Manhattan group – for their history. That’s what sort of gay man I am – a man who appreciates history. And so I will send it to them, in the memory of my mom – and actually ask them to say some prayers for her soul. For she saved it for nearly 60 years – and well, the successors deserve a bit of their history. Well, the history of gay men has been one of travail and devastation at the hands of the Catholic Church. The KKK would have burned the book – not me – I’ll send it off, despite your unholy comments.

But an “apology” is merely your political nonsense to avoid further angst for yourself – it is most certainly not to accept gay folks – for you cannot accept what is “Intrinsically evil” – neither can I. And let me tell you, sir – until your Church joins my mom, my dad, my aunts and uncles and cousins and even my grandparents and my siblings in accepting me as the fine man I am – the very sort of fine man you have stated lives within your own family bosom – your own nephew I hear – how can he be a “fine man” and “intrinsically evil” at the same time – as you yourself doth proclaim? I can’t wrap my head around such opposing views of the same person. Until then your apology is nothing. It is a political maneuver.

No sir, ACCEPTANCE and LOVE and the word of Jesus is the only solution. Apologies are given when one breaks a cookie jar or spills some wine upon a carpet – and your apology still leaves us gay folks as “evil” – no Sir, not on your life will a mere “Apology” be enough. I want you and the Pope himself to recognize that God Himself put me here for His purpose – as a gay man – and not listen once more or again to any nonsense that I’m a threat, evil, dangerous or against anything whatsoever.

I want you to tell Maggie Gallagher and Rick Santorum and the rest of such political figures to whom you minister from your pulpit to stop their unholy and unAmerican verbal and psychological assault on gay Americans – and gay people all over this world. I want you and your Pope and your Church and your fellow cardinals and bishops and priests to rise up against the evil perpetrated against gay men and women in nearly every country on earth. I want you to instruct your pastors in every congregation, from every parish, from every basilica and cathedral and monastery on this earth to say “Gays are good and fine people and are part of God’s plan, love them as Jesus would.”

Here, sir, let me quote you from the Cenacle’s front piece to their little tourist book:

“As Divine Providence orders all things, this Cenacle must now give place to more modern structures for the general good, but its work will continue in another area of the Archdiocese.” – well, sir – it’s time for you and the Church to accept Divine Providence in the creation of gay folks, and to give place to modern structures of thought and place to us – so that your otherwise good works might include us gay folks – and nothing less than full acceptance is called for. Come to your senses and join us gay folks in the reality of our existence and the decency we deserve.

But don’t give me “apologies” for the KKK comments when you still consider me “evil” and a threat to my own family and nation and to every other family and nation under Heaven. No sir, it’s going to take far more than an “Apology.”

Thank you, in the love of Christ.

Jim Hlavac

1 Comment

  1. “Your church has considered Jews “evil” for two thousand years. Your church has finally relented only this year on that issue.”

    — patently false. citation pls.

    “I don’t want an “apology” for the KKK reference – for you will merely seek another more pernicious comparison.”

    — As I mentioned in previous post, the reference is accurate… the Church is under constant hateful attacks from bigots (gay and straight of all manner of agendas) daily. He was not calling Gay Ppl Clansmen. Not even a little bit.

    “No sir, I want acceptance. I want appreciation. I want your Church to admit that gay folks – especially gay men, with whom you have the most trouble – are decent fine folks the world over.”

    — The Church emphatically defends Gay People from any manner of bigoted treatment. She clearly states in the Catechism :

    2358 The number of men and women who have deep-seated homosexual tendencies is not negligible. This inclination, which is objectively disordered, constitutes for most of them a trial. They must be accepted with respect, compassion, and sensitivity. Every sign of unjust discrimination in their regard should be avoided. These persons are called to fulfill God’s will in their lives and, if they are Christians, to unite to the sacrifice of the Lord’s Cross the difficulties they may encounter from their condition.

    http://www.scborromeo.org/ccc/p3s2c2a6.htm

    Not only in this nation. But in every nation on earth. I want your Church to say “Gay people are part of God’s plan. We don’t know why, but we will embrace our gay brethren.” I want your Church to stop it’s unholy war against me and my mom, my dad, my aunts and uncles and cousins. Not just your own – but mine.

    — “Every sign of unjust discrimination in their regard should be avoided.”

    A good discussion hinges on eliminating hyperbole and emotion. And in particular avoiding promulgating falsehoods.

Leave a Reply

