Santorum, Bachmann & Bradlee Dean vs. Ronald Reagan & Me

“Looking out a window” – that’s the name of a short radio broadcast Ronald Reagan taped on January 27th, 1978. He wasn’t president yet, and I was just coming up on my 20th birthday. I voted for him; I liked him; I still like him. I think he’s the best president of my lifetime so far, and the past 100 years for that matter. Maybe since Lincoln, even. And there are two lines out of the short spiel which compel me to make a comparison, or actually – note the vast difference – between Reagan & me, and Rick Santorum, Michelle Bachmann and a man named Bradlee Dean.

(And which lines I read at page 18 in “Reagan In His Own Hand,” a compilation of his handwritten scripts for many radio broadcasts, I took it out of the library last week.)

Reagan speaks about the people he sees driving home on the streets below his 35th Floor hotel room somewhere, he doesn’t say, and he says this about those people below:

Some of the social planners refer to them as ‘the masses’ which only proves they don’t know them. … They are not the masses.”

snip;

They are very uncommon. Individuals each with his or her own hopes & dreams, plans & problems and the kind of quiet courage that makes this whole country run better than just about any other place on earth.”

Yes, and well, I’m looking out my window this day, upon a quiet street, living a life, and Bachmann, Santorum and Dean are social planners who refer to me as some foul mass within society. And think, they are exactly opposite to what Reagan said is the strength of this country, and which I believe it to be too – us as individuals. What we do with our hopes and dreams, plans and problems. And well, I’ve done pretty good in that department, without a whole lot of problems really, and certainly not any I couldn’t take care of in some form or the other.

But now, these social planners, they’re out to plan me out of my existence, and they don’t even know me. They are social planners indeed. And they bizarrely think they must get rid of gay people, so that the heterosexuals can continue their lives. Very strange, Orwellian, communist in a way, as they declare me and mine “enemies of the people.”

Here, let’s look at what these crackpots are up to, in their vain attempt to get rid of some citizens for the benefit of others, which just seems so unAmerican to me – particularly as I’m one of the targets of their wrath.

Well, now, Mr. Dean – who has said he agrees with Muslims for executing gays, “it’s a moral good,” he does say (www.goodasyou.org has plenty on the man,) is still calling for criminalizing gay folks and taking us off the streets, I guess. What he will do with a good 10,000,000 of us he does not dare say too clearly, but I’d say just killing us or incarcerating us forever would fit his needs. So now he’s threatening lawsuits against some intrepid reporter, the reporter’s newspaper and Rachel Maddow thrown in to the mix, for having investigated him – and proving his words.

Dean is such a crackpot that he caused quite an uproar recently when he was invited to give a brief benediction to open a legislative session in Minnesota and went off on a vicious tirade against Muslims (I guess he hates them unless they’re killing gays,) Jews, Catholics, Gays and Lord knows who else that the legislators there rose up against him and said “not in our chamber will he say these things.” Why, they cut him off in mid tirade. Including some of those who had invited him! And then they adjourned till they could get other clergy to say a kind word and expunge the foul breath of Dean which lingered in the hallowed halls of power.

Here’s the article, or the plea for funds, from the Iowa Independent – a newspaper I previously hadn’t really known existed, since I don’t know those uncommon Iowans going about their lives up there.

https://act.myngp.com/Forms/5476377146882523136

>>Controversial anti-gay minister Bradlee Dean and his evangelical band/ministry You Can Run But You Cannot Hide International (YCR) are suing The American Independent News Network’s senior reporter, Andy Birkey, and are threatening to also sue our site The Minnesota Independent. Rachel Maddow, who also reported about Dean on her MSNBC show, is also named in the suit, which seeks $50 million in damages.

The lawsuit describes Andy as taking “a ‘special interest’ in Plaintiffs Dean and YCR because he is a secularist and/or atheist and gay activist with a politically left ideology who despises people of faith.” However, Andy’s award-winning coverage of YCR has received wide praise, including the Society of Professional Journalist’s (SPJ) first prize for Best Continuing Coverage. SPJ stated that Andy took “an even-handed approach into a weighty subject sure to provoke controversy from various standpoints.” We read your comments, tweets, Facebook messages, and emails and know you agree that Andy’s coverage, along with the rest of the reporting by The American Independent News Network, is excellent.>>

Yes, well, I dare say, when you are calling for the elimination of a segment of the masses, or a percentage of rugged American individuals, I do think a little investigation by the press is warranted. Now, I don’t know how good Mr. Birkey did, but he got an award for whatever it was. But somehow I don’t think you can sue the press for reporting one’s own words. And boy, does Bradlee speak! Here, from what I’m assuming is a companion paper of the Iowa Independent:

http://minnesotaindependent.com/tag/you-can-run-but-you-cannot-hide

>>Republican Sen. Paul Gazelka was a guest on Bradlee Dean’s Saturday evening radio program to talk about the amendment to put a ban on same-sex marriage into the Minnesota Constitution. Over the course of the program, which is part of Dean’s controversial ministry, You Can Run But You Cannot Hide, Gazelka spoke about activist judges and concerns that Republicans might be labeled “homophobes” or “bigots.” Dean and sidekick Jake McMillian said that homosexuals are criminals and America will be destroyed if homosexuality isn’t criminalized.>>

Yes, well, isn’t that nice – though there be no law against me anymore – I’m a criminal – and a threat to the nation. It’s beyond “homophobe” and “bigot” I would think, into delusion and self-torture. The idea is stupendously stupid, for as Reagan pointed out, all those many years ago: “They are very uncommon. Individuals each with his or her own hopes & dreams, plans & problems and the kind of quiet courage that makes this whole country run better than just about any other place on earth.”

Even if he didn’t think he was speaking about any gay folks per se, I doubt Reagan was thinking we are some mass that needs expunging from the nation. But when one goes on the radio and blithely accuses some individuals of being a dire threat to the nation, well, I dare say, that needs a bit of reporting. So I report – so don’t forget me Mr. Dean – oh do add every single gay person to your legal complaint. We shall enjoy the time in court using your own words.

Meanwhile, Santorum had recently been on the Bradlee Dean radio show – I spoke of it the other day, I think (these things are not hard to find, seek, if you wish, I can’t provide every link, can I?) – and Michelle Bachmann is a good friend of Mr. Dean, and has raised funds for this YCR genocidal maniac – and so I wonder, will these two join Mr. Dean in suing the Iowa Independent and by extension – all gay folks, who all have a very personal interest in bringing this all to light?

Why, join in you two, don’t let your pal Mr. Dean shoulder the burden of getting rid of gay folks. Here’s Ricky at yet another forum complaining that gay folks will be the ruination of it all – and as Ronald Reagan pointed out – “Some of the social planners refer to them as ‘the masses’ which only proves they don’t know them. … They are not the masses.” – and I dare say Santorum is a social planner – with a plan to get rid of me from any social setting he might find me in:

http://ontopmag.com/article.aspx?id=9981&MediaType=1&Category=26

>>When asked by the Des Moines Register, “Do you see yourself as ever reaching an understanding with the gay community on gay-rights issues?” Santorum answered that he could not “find an accommodation where there can be none.”

“You know, the gay community and those who support gay rights with respect to marriage in particular – no, I am not going to find an accommodation with that. That is a fundamental issue. People can live the life that they want to live, but now they are talking about changing the laws of the country to reflect a relationship that is not marriage. Calling it marriage does not make it marriage, and it undermines the institution itself. So, no, I can’t find an accommodation where there can be none,” he said.

The former Pennsylvania senator, who continues to campaign heavily in early caucus state Iowa, also said pork burgers were the best thing to eat in the state.

“I have to tell you the thing that I have enjoyed the most that I never had before I came here was a pork burger,” he said, then added, “The best thing that I have had in Iowa was a pork chop at the fair.”>> (PS, Eating pork is against the Bible, an abomination, ask a Jew or Muslim, you have sinned in the eyes of the Lord Rick!)

And so the social planners and the executioners and the jailers and the destroyers of the “…hopes & dreams, plans & problems and the kind of quiet courage…” of millions of gay folks are gathering together in unholy terrorizing of gay people. At what societal, monetary and human cost they don’t seem to care. They want us outlawed and taken off to the camps to be eliminated from society – they are quite a trio of crackpots. And two on the presidential hustings? Egad.

Still, in the real world, in Reagan’s reality, in my country – not this country of NO GAYS! And death to Jim that our three crackpots envision, no – but an America of individuals pursuing happiness, we picked up a few major allies along the way:

http://www.ontopmag.com/article.aspx?id=9985&MediaType=1&Category=26

>>Google, Starbucks and Microsoft are among the 70 companies that have filed an amicus brief opposing the Defense Of Marriage Act (DOMA), the 1996 law that bars federal agencies and the military from recognizing the legal marriages of gay and lesbian couples.

In their filing in support of a legal challenge to the law, the companies argued that the law forces them to treat their employees differently.

“Because marriages are celebrated and recognized under state law, a federal law withholding marital benefits from some lawful marriages, but not others, creates a non-uniform rule. Employers are obliged to treat one employee spouse differently from another, when each is married, and each marriage is equally lawful,” the companies said in their brief.>>

And so I think, how could the party of Reagan, of individuals, of freedom, possibly have been grabbed by a bunch of theocrats who want to summarily dispatch millions of people? How have we slipped to this theocratic morass where the government shall decide if I live or die, or be free or incarcerated, merely for waking up in the morning based on mere religious belief? Wow, Reagan is rolling over in his grave at the social planners Santorum, Bachmann and Dean mission to get rid of a mass of people.

And I dare say, my answer to this culture war against me is “NUTS!” Which is an answer Reagan would have smiled at, knowing that it is said with “a kind of quiet courage” to live free, and not under the yoke of government.

 

 

Leave a Reply

